About the Laurel Alumni Association

  • The Laurel Alumni Association, Inc. (“LAA”) is a non-profit corporation and represents the official organization of alumni of the Laurel, Delaware School District. Organized in 1990, LAA has over 800 members strong and represents alumni ranging from the Class of 1932 to the graduates of last year. We are proud of our heritage and our Bulldogs. We work closely with the Laurel School District on various activities involving alumni and strive to support future alumni financially in their continuing education. Through your support, membership dues have been able to remain just $5.00 per year, or even less when you sign up for five years for only $20.!!

    The Laurel Alumni Association Scholarship Foundation, Inc. (“LAASF”) is a separate corporation managed and operated in conjunction with the LAA. Each year the LAASF awards graduating seniors, who are children of members, thousands of dollars in scholarships to be used toward undergraduate degrees. For example, in 2022, LAASF awarded 21 scholarships totalling over $56,300!!

    LAASF operates solely from donations, charitable contributions, fund-raising campaigns, and good investment practices. Although a scholarship is not guaranteed just because the applicant’s parents are members of LAA, in the vast majority of years since its creation, all eligible applicants have received scholarships. Scholarship awards depend on the number of applications submitted and the amount of money available in that given year.

    If you or your spouse are a graduate of Laurel High School, you are eligible to become a member of LAA and help brighten the future of the upcoming Laurel Alum. In addition, there is an Associate Membership category that conveys the same benefits as a regular membership - even for people who did not graduate from Laurel. At its 2018 Business Meeting, the qualifications to become an Associate Member were expanded to allow the children or grandchildren of LAA members to become LAA Associate Members - regardless of where they graduated. In this fashion, after three years of Associate Membership, their own children will become eligible to receive a LAA scholarship upon high school graduation.


  • President: 
    Randy Hill

    1st Vice President: 
    Kelly Whaley

    2nd  Vice President:

    Immediate Past President: 
    Kelly Whaley

    Treasurer General Fund: 
    Ellen Hearn

    Treasurer Scholarship Fund: 
    E. Stephen Callaway 

    Recording Secretary: 
    Gary Owens

    Corresponding Secretary: 
    Janet Morgan 

    Recording Historian: 
    Edna Millman

    Membership Committee Chairperson: 
    Betsy Davis