Return to Headlines

NLELA Principal Among Inaugural Cohort of Leadership Graduates

from DDOE Publication, Take Note
The inaugural cohort of some of the state's most highly distinguished assistant principals graduated this month from Delaware's Assistant Principal Academy program.
                   Mrs. Giles
Mrs. Giles (pictured center) is in her first year as Principal of NLELA
The program, administered under the Governor's Institute for School Leadership (GISL), is a year-long professional learning opportunity that develops assistant principals into transformational building-level principals. The academy consists of five modules of instruction aligned to Professional Standards for Educational Leaders (PSEL), and includes coaching by University of Delaware's Academy for School Leadership (DASL) as well as practice-based mentorships with successful building principals.
This year's fellows were chosen for the program during a selective application process. Cohort 2 will launch this Friday. Participants will then take part in weekend retreats that begin February 25 and continue monthly through 2022.
GISL is a partnership between the Delaware Governor's Office, Delaware Department of Education (DDOE), University of Delaware's College of Education and Human Development (CEHD), and local school districts and charter schools.
Congratulations to this year's Assistant Principal Academy graduates!
  • Jenna Argo – Indian River School District
  • Mabel Boutte – Christina School District
  • Trina Giles – Laurel School District
  • Diana Golden – Brandywine School District
  • Sarah Green – Indian River School District
  • Holly Langley – Sussex Vo-Tech School District
  • Tammy McDermott – New Castle County Vo-Tech School District
  • Lenita McIntyre – Capital School District
  • L’Lanya Morrow-Cain – Appoquinimink School District
  • Tina Pinkett – Capital School District
  • Alvin Pope – Christina School District
  • Nathalie Princilus – Christina School District