Return to Headlines

Bulldogs Win State Title!

Monday, December 13, 2021

Laurel Bulldogs Win First Football State Championship in 30 Years!

In the inaugural DIAA Class 1A State Championship Football Game, our #1 seeded Laurel Bulldogs defeated the #2 seeded St. Elizabeth Vikings by a score of 28-14 to claim Laurel High's first football state championship in thirty years!   


Playing through persistent rainfall through much of Delaware Stadium's last game of the night, the Bulldogs relied on a stiff run game and an even stiffer defense in cruising to Laurel's 4th state title in football.  Senior Slotback Javier White motored for 116 yards on 15 carries and had two rushing touchdowns.  Junior Fullback Kylse Wilson contributed 56 yards rushing and two touchdowns, and Junior Quarterback Kaden Shockley chipped in key yardage at key times running Laurel's option attack. 



On defense, the Bulldogs had a pack of dogs swarming to the ball all night.  Senior linebacker Jaden Snyder led the attack with 12 tackles, while senior defensive back Omori'Yon "Charlie" Cannon had an interception right before halftime that led to Laurel's go ahead scoring scamper by White.  Class 1A Defensive Player of the Year Kyler Weaver and defensive teammates Pat Belle, JJ Parker-Cannon, Evan Collins, Brady Lee, Damontra Smith, Brayden Hearn, Xavier Limehouse, Des'mon Truitt-Paul, Tate Walls, Jett Furbush, and James Johnson held the vaunted St. E's offense--which had been averagaing 38 points per game--to just 14 points and 129 total yards, including limiting Vikings star running back and 1A Offensive Player of the Year, Quasim Benson, to just 38 yards on 24 carries.  With the win, the Bulldogs finished 11-2 on the year and captured Laurel High's 4th state football title, but its first since the team of 1991 brought home the trophy three decades ago.   

With the monumental victory, Coach Joey Jones ups his overall record to 19-10 in his three years at the helm of Bulldogs football, including a record of 15-4 over the past two seasons.  


More information will be forthcoming from the district regarding a proper celebration of this team's remarkable accomplishments.  


Congratulations to all!